I’m running the Chicago Marathon for Team RMHC Austin

by Lindsay Weeks, Guest Blogger

My recent visit to the Ronald McDonald House

My recent visit to the Ronald McDonald House

I never thought I would use the word “runner” to describe me. In fact, I just started running two years ago, when I signed up for my first half marathon. Now trust me, running didn’t come easy to me. But it’s true what people say about running. It is contagious. When you get around other runners or when you feel that “runner’s high” you are sucked right in and there is no turning back! Running can also be nostalgic. It has been the one place where I can let my mind wander and not be afraid of where my feet will take me. Not only is it healthy for my body but also extremely healthy for my lifestyle. I am a workaholic. I travel for half the month and work 50+ hours per week. For someone like me, I need an escape from reality every now and then – and running has been just that!

It was through my job that I was provided this amazing opportunity to take my love for running a step further. For the past two years, I have worked with the Austin Area Chevy Dealers, who are proud supporters of Ronald McDonald House Charities and sponsor several fundraising events throughout the year. Through this partnership I have had the pleasure of building my own relationship with RMHC Austin and all the people that make it so special.

Team RMHC Austin recently cooked lunch for the families at the Ronald McDonald House

In addition to training, we volunteered to cook lunch for the families at the Ronald McDonald House

We all know that when RMHC gives you an opportunity to make a difference you take it! This is how I felt when I was asked to join Team RMHC and commit to running 26.2 miles at the Chicago Marathon this October. Don’t get me wrong the first thing that crossed my mind was “Are you crazy? 26.2 miles!” Running that kind of distance never crossed my mind – wasn’t even on my bucket list. However, this meant more than just achieving the unthinkable. It was about giving back in my own special way, through something I feel so passionate about.

I wish I could tell you training has been a breeze and that gaining mileage has come easily, but that would be far from the truth. For the past five months I have religiously scheduled my weekly runs, tackling each new distance that was put in front of me and losing plenty of beauty sleep along the way.  The most difficult part has been training during the hottest time of the year. The humidity and the hills in Austin combined give endurance training a whole new meaning!

Lindsay with her Team RMHC friends

It’s been GREAT to train with my best friends and to know we are making a big difference.

However there have been so many GREAT parts as well, like getting to train alongside three of my closest friends who have also committed to running the ultimate distance in support of the many children and families supported by RMHC. We keep each other smiling and laughing with each new mile we tackle and somehow continue to spend our Saturdays pounding the pavement. But above all, the best part of this whole experience has been the love and support we have received from our family and friends; like us they are eager to help in any way they can. They have helped contribute to our fundraising efforts and continue to make the impossible seem possible in our eyes.

We're going to do it! We're going to run 26.2 miles!!

We’re going to do it! We’re going to run 26.2 miles!!

With week 22 of marathon training behind me, and my first 21-mile run logged in the books I can honestly say I am ready for what’s ahead. This experience has been life changing for me and the best part has yet to even come. Every stretch of the Chicago Marathon I will be smiling, for I am a member of the greatest team there is, Team RMHC!

About Team RMHC Austin

Team RMHC Austin is eight runners strong including Ann Jerome, Megan Carnathan, Tamzin Cochrane, Meredith Harris, David Rabke, Michelle Schwartz, Matthew Seale and Lindsay Weeks.  As of this writing, they have raised $7,192 toward their goal of $10,000! Click here to donate and help them reach their goal.

About Lindsay Weeks
Lindsay Weeks is an Account Director for Agency 720, a full-service advertising agency that works with Chevrolet dealer groups across the country. She is an Austin native and holds a BA in Journalism from The University of Texas at Austin and an MBA from The University of Texas at Arlington. She also currently serves on the board of directors for the Austin Advertising Federation.

This entry was posted in Ronald McDonald House Charities. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m running the Chicago Marathon for Team RMHC Austin

  1. Renee says:

    Love the blog! Thanks for all that you do to support Ronald McDonald House Charities!

  2. Paula Duke says:

    Good luck, runners!! “Running is a mental sport, and we’re all insane!”

Leave a Reply

