Small Change

by Kent Burress

Last week I flew to Chicago. While I was waiting in line to walk through airport security,
I reached into my pocket and heard the jingle of a few pennies and a couple of nickels. I have to admit I was a little miffed that in addition to taking off my shoes and belt, now I was also going to have to empty my pockets. It was 5:10 in the morning so I was a little cranky.loose change

Fast forward to my last morning in Chicago. I went into a McDonald’s just across the street from the hotel to get my Egg McMuffin with no cheese. The coin donation boxes caught my eye and I thought about those pennies and nickels that had irritated me in the security line. Even that small amount of change makes a difference here at Austin’s Ronald McDonald House.

I think there is a lesson here that even the small stuff is important, and maybe we should at least build up a bead of perspiration about the small stuff even if we don’t sweat it – but that’s for another blog post.

This blog post is simply to ask you to help us change the lives of families with critically ill or injured children by dropping your spare change into changethe donation boxes at McDonalds every chance you get.

“To you it’s just change. To a family in need it changes everything.”

This entry was posted in Donors, Kent, Ronald McDonald House, Ronald McDonald House Charities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

