The Big 50 – Age is Just a Number

by Jane Rose

My first Christmas, Dec. 1963

My first Christmas, Dec. 1963

I’ve never been shy about my birthday or about announcing it to the world.  So why should this one be any different?  On April 20, I will turn 50 years old.  Yes, 50.

I’m the 39th and youngest first cousin on my Dad’s side of the family.  My Dad was one of 11 kids.  I’m not sure how well all of my cousins are taking it that the “baby” is 50 but here we are.

5th grade, circa 1972.  Yes, I was originally blonde.

5th grade, circa 1972.
Yes, I was originally blonde.

Then there are my siblings.  My eldest brother turned 70 last September.  My youngest brother turned 60 just a few days ago.  We have nephews who are and will turn 40 this year.  One grandniece is 10 this year, and we have a brand new one, too.  So in a decade, she’ll be 10 to go with these other numbers.  And to top it all off, my Dad, if he was still with us, would have been 100.  That’s a lot of zeroes in one family for one year!

We deal with a lot of numbers around here at RMHC Austin, too.  The number of families we served in 2012 was over 1,700.  We have a 30-room House and 3 Family Rooms, so there’s a lot of opportunity for us to help so many people.

In 2012, at our House, we had about 90 weekly volunteers throughout the year give 5,100 hours of their time.   At our special events, the numbers are staggering, too.  At our Lights of Love 5K last year, over 300 volunteers put in over 1,000 hours.  And at this year’s Bandana Ball, in just the 4 days surrounding the event, 110 volunteers gave 500+ hours to make it such a success.  And that doesn’t even begin to include the hours that committee members put in starting the previous April when plans were formed and tasks were starting to be knocked out!  I’m sure a reasonable guess would be several thousand hours by the time all is said and done, making the Ball a great success.

Me & Tony at Disney World.  It's one of our favorite places, rain or shine!

Me & Tony at Disney World. It’s one of our favorite places, rain or shine!

It’s interesting to think of all the numbers we’re a part of every day.  I’ll bet you have some significant ones in your life, too.  I have a birthday goal that includes another number, but if you want to know more – and I hope you do! –  you’ll have to visit my personal blog here.

Here’s to innumerable great days ahead to us all.  I’m particularly looking forward to what’s in store for me in the next 50 years!

Have you done anything remarkable to commemorate a special birthday?  Tell us about it!

This entry was posted in Jane, Ronald McDonald Family Room, Ronald McDonald House, Ronald McDonald House Charities and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Big 50 – Age is Just a Number

  1. Pingback: Today’s the day! | UTRose

  2. Theresa May says:

    And I turned 65 this year, Jane, so there’s life around every corner. Thanks for all the wonderful work you do! That makes every day worthwhile.

  3. Kathy Williamson says:

    Happy Birthday Jane! I joined the Fab fifty club back in December. I know this number will not slow you down in the least! Enjoy it all!!

Leave a Reply

