Miscellaneous (My Favorite Word)

by Claire Mathias

Grandpa Bunny Gardens (Picture by Victor Verrette)

While taking a walk and searching for today’s topic, I came up with a number of ideas, but as I thought each out, I rejected them for a variety of reasons. For instance, spring. What’s not to love, right? The temperate weather, the flowers, so many people gardening. (Okay, we don’t love allergies.) But, at this time of year, it seems like everyone is writing about spring, so it seems a bit trite.

If only I could create a yarn bomb as elegant as this!

If only I could create a yarn bomb as elegant as this!

And as we look forward to spring, my next thoughts turn to yarn bombing. Been there, done that topic. More than once I think. If you’ve read any of my past posts, you know how much I like yarn bombing. In fact, with the approach of spring, I am getting ready for a fresh yarn bomb on one of the trees in my yard. The colors will highlight the foliage as it comes back.  Bright green for the leaves, pale pinks for the blooms.

Take Down - OUCH!

Take Down – OUCH!

Next: Kung Fu. As I walked and stretched my very sore legs, I was reminded of taking a family Kung Fu class with my son this weekend. Despite watching the kiddo practice Kung Fu for three years, I have never actually tried it, so it was with some trepidation that I went. Then, I learned that we would be doing “take-downs.” We had a great time tackling one another, but I have to say, my kid is strong, and I am out of shape. Ouch.

Go Team Ronald!

Go Team Ronald!

Which reminds me that I do plan to exercise more and perhaps walk a 5K in April or May. That topic leads to another: Team RMHC Austin, which has brought in more than $31,000 in donations to date, and is a very cool way to raise funds for the Ronald McDonald House and Family Rooms. If you are looking for a fun way to help RMHC, check it out. It’s easy to set up your own page, and you can do it at any time.

So that, in a nutshell, is the miscellaneous that is going through my head today. That’s pretty normal, so you can see why I like that word.

Now go out there and take a walk, and find some fun miscellany in your head!

This entry was posted in Claire, Ronald McDonald House, Ronald McDonald House Charities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

