Back to School

It's that time again!

It’s that time again!

by Jane Rose

Most people think of the phrase “back to school” at the end of the summer when a brand new school year starts. But in a college town, it’s appropriate at the start of a new calendar year, too, when a new semester starts.

In my case, I’m “just” taking a class entitled “Certificate in Volunteer Management.” It’s been AWESOME and is led by two outstanding teachers well-versed in all of the topics we’re covering. My fellow participants are from many different organizations and we’re all learning from each other, too. I know personally that I’ve learned a lot from them!

Perhaps most importantly, I’m learning how much I don’t know and how much more I need to be doing in my role as the Volunteer Coordinator for RMHC Austin. It’s overwhelming, but I’m looking forward in putting what I’m learning to use and making the volunteer experience with us better not just for our volunteers but also for our staff and our guest families who benefit from their hard work.

R.O. is one of our terrific House Volunteers!

R.O. is one of our terrific House Volunteers!

So if you already volunteer with us, hopefully this gives you something to look forward to.  You’ll never know what’s up my sleeve next, but don’t you want to find out?  And if you don’t yet volunteer with us, perhaps I’ve intrigued you enough to come find out what’s up. Sure hope so!  We always need great folks to volunteer at our Ronald McDonald House and Family Rooms.  Please join us!

This entry was posted in Jane, Ronald McDonald Family Room, Ronald McDonald House, Ronald McDonald House Charities, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

