One Week of Appreciation Isn’t Enough

by Jane Rose

Update: Thanks to Giving City Austin for sharing this post in their own blog post: “Love, Jane Rose.”

No matter who you are…

This is the one week during the year set aside as “Volunteer Appreciation Week.”  But we appreciate our volunteers every time one walks in the door, and this is my love letter to all of them.  And then some.

We can’t do what we do to help the families who need us without our wonderfully awesome, fantastic, talented, caring volunteers. I hope all of you reading this who volunteer for RMHC Austin know how much you are not just appreciated, but loved very much, for all that you do.  Was that short, sweet and mushy enough for you?

…or how you help…

But we certainly aren’t the only organization who relies on volunteers to help carry out their mission, and appreciates all that they do.  And I know they thank their volunteers as well.  They are local groups, and some national, too, like the American Red Cross, Mothers Against Drunk Driving, the Trinity Center, Texas Parks and Wildlife, GENaustin, Little Helping Hands, Hand to Hold, the Central TX SPCA…and so many more.  Volunteers make our world a better place in countless ways.

Do you volunteer?  With whom?  Why?  What do you love about it?  And I’m not just hoping to hear from RMHC volunteers, but from anyone else who volunteers with any other great organization.  I know you’re out there.

Have you ever helped your child’s PTA?  Are you a member of National Charity League or Alpha Delta Pi?  Have you been involved with scouting? Are you a UT student who has volunteered through the Volunteer and Service Learning Center?  Have you helped in a race, like our Lights of Love 5K?

You volunteer coordinators reading this should also feel free to leave a comment and put in your two cents and let us know who you are as well.  I know you appreciate these great folks.

…we love you!

I hope everyone out there who volunteers knows how much they are truly appreciated and how very much they are loved.  Not just this week, but every single day, by whomever you volunteer for.   Thank you SO much for all that you do!

(and if you aren’t already involved, come volunteer with us!)

This entry was posted in Jane, Thank you, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to One Week of Appreciation Isn’t Enough

  1. Pingback: Back to School | RMHC Austin

  2. Pingback: Love, Jane Rose | GivingCity Austin

  3. GENaustin says:

    Thank you to the RMHC for this lovely thank you note to the volunteers in our community! GENaustin and nonprofit’s like us would not be able to have the positive impact we do without the support of our volunteers. Thank you for including us in this wonderful blog post- we’re proud of our volunteers and proud to be a part of the nonprofit community in Austin!

    • Jane Rose says:

      GENaustin – thank you for all that you do for the community and for what your members do as volunteers with us on occasion. We appreciate all of YOUR support as well!

  4. Peggy Burghardt says:

    Jane, Danny & Derrick! The best thing I ever did was to retire & become a volunteer for Ronald McDonald – thank you for allowing me the honor!! Peggy Burghardt

    • Jane Rose says:

      Peggy – thank YOU for giving your time at our Family Room at St. David’s North Austin Medical Center. You have been such a faithful and devoted volunteer and we really appreciate all that you do and have done!

  5. Angie Abbey says:

    Jane, you have a spark for helpfulness in everything that you do. Thanks for coordinating the volunteers for the RMHC. We had a blast when we were there last year. I have volunteered in many organizations, Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts, church, Central Texas SPCA, PTL, etc. I love the feeling that I get when I give something back to my community. I’m also trying to relay the importance of this to my children. Thanks for all you do!

    • Jane Rose says:

      Angie – Wow! For all YOU do, big thanks! I knew you were involved with the shelter, too, but didn’t know the rest. Somehow it doesn’t surprise me, though! Way to go!

  6. Laura says:

    Here here! Well said Jane! As someone else once said:

    If you want to be happy for an hour, take a nap.
    If you want to be happy for a day, go fishing.
    If you want to be happy for a week, take a trip.
    If you want to be happy for a year, inherit money.
    But if you want to be happy for a lifetime, serve others!

    We are grateful for all who’ve chosen the path of service. Thank you volunteers!

    • Jane Rose says:

      Laura – definite words of wisdom! And I know your appreciation of your volunteers at RMHC Cleveland is boundless as well! Thanks for chiming in!

  7. Carole says:

    Thanks Jane. I’m so glad I found this opportunity to give a little back.

    • Jane Rose says:

      Carole – we love having you help us each Monday morning. Thanks for making the start of each week a little brighter!

  8. Little Helping Hands says:

    Volunteers are what makes the difference in any nonprofit organization and we in particular wouldn’t have an organization without them! Thanks for this, Jane!

    • Jane Rose says:

      Marissa/Grace – we really appreciate all that Little Helping Hands does for us. Thank YOU for providing such a great way for families involved in volunteering with their young children!

  9. Ed Nordmeyer says:

    Without volunteers there wouldn’t be many places of worship in the US today. The vast majoirty of churches in the US today are as a result of paritioners volunteering their treasure, time, and talents to making a difference in their community. Their impact does make a difference in the lives of the people with whom they interact.

    • Jane Rose says:

      Good point, big brother! Thanks for your two cents and pointing out an area where so many people give of their time and talent that I wasn’t able to fit in.

  10. Carlie Dos Santos says:

    Thank you, Jane, for all that you do for the volunteer community. It’s funny – I volunteer with my neighborhood Optimist club (Delwood NorthEast Optimist Club), but I don’t ever remember to say that I volunteer with Jake’s PTA (Gullett!) or his Cub Scout Pack (Den 2, Pack 55!) – I just do it. I wouldn’t have remembered to mention it if you hadn’t suggested it. I think that’s probably the same for many folks – it’s just something we do. It’s in our DNA.

    • Jane Rose says:

      Carlie – it’s folks like you who “just do it” that really make the world a better place without even giving it a second thought. Thanks for all that YOU do!

  11. Grace says:

    And Jane I hope you realize how much those of us who volunteer with RMH appreciate the opportunity to be involved in such an incredible organization. Thank YOU and all of the staff at RMH for doing what you do day in and day out.

    • Jane Rose says:

      Grace – we love all that you and Little Helping Hands do to get families involved at all of the organizations that you support. But your kind words are also very much appreciated!

  12. Steve says:

    Nicely put! Hopefully everyone organization will thank their volunteers as well and as publicly!

  13. Mike Jones says:

    Keep up the GREAT WORK!!

  14. R. O. Williams, Jr. says:

    Thanks, Jane, for a very heartfelt “THANK YOU”…..My volunteering time at RMHC is one of the great highlights of my life each week….knowing that you are truly appreciated makes it an even more rewarding time given…I have done a lot of volunteering in my lifetime from being a Board Member for many non-profit entities to serving meals at a Soup Kitchen (in Beaumont), to helping organize a Prostate Cancer Support Group…still, RMHC still rates one of the top places…we are given the opportunity to be an ear to those who need someone to listen, to being the smile that so many need from someone else each day to being the heart to console, uplift or just be there…and of course, follow up with our own prayers for that Caregiver and/or patient…too, I am so appreciative of YOU WHO ARE THE RONALD MCDONALD STAFF….you help it all to keep on keeping on and make good things happen to serve so many….our thanks back to each of you for making it a joy to volunteer at such a place that affects so many lives….Blessings to each of you.

    • Jane Rose says:

      R.O., we certainly love having you here each week, so I’m glad to know how much you enjoy it. But that does certainly shine through each time you’re here! Hope you don’t mind being in one of the photos I used, too. =)

  15. Dee says:

    Hi Jane! Great thank you card. I volunteer whenever I can in many different ways. It seems too small a thing sometimes when the needs are so great. I’d like to join with you in a great big thanks to all the caring hearts out there!

    • Jane Rose says:

      Dee – then thanks to YOU for all that you do wherever you volunteer. I know people are so blessed to have you in their lives!

  16. Jeanette Cacciola says:

    What a lovely note Jane. I volunteer, primarily at the Central TX SPCA, because giving back to my community and finding like-minded individuals has greatly enriched my life. My team and I volunteered last year at the RMHC and we loved that too. It was wonderful to know we were doing a little something for the families with sick children and it was a fun team-building outing for us too! We’ll be back to RMHC in 2012 for sure! Thanks for all you do to make volunteers feel welcome and appreciated.!

    • Jane Rose says:

      Jeanette – we loved having your HMH team here to prepare a meal for our families, and I’m glad to know it was an enjoyable experience for all. And I also want to thank you for getting me involved with the Central TX SPCA. I love my volunteer shift there each week, helping in the office. But my time with the critters, too, is so good for me and I appreciate that!

Leave a Reply

