My sister says it is all about even numbered years!

by Missy Strittmatter

I was reading Derrick’s blog the other day and it seems both of us are thinking about the New Year – although in a slightly different, less cult like way.  I don’t fancy myself one of these people who wakes up every January 1 with a list of resolutions and plans for the next year.  However, this year seems different to me.  No, not in an end of the world sort of way, but just the opposite.  For me it seems like 2012 holds promise, excitement and newness.

I am not sure what it is about 2012 that makes me feel that way.  My sister says

Even Numbered Years? Is she on to something?

that years that end in an even number are good years.  I don’t know if I buy that, but it is one theory.  Maybe we are just ready for the next chapter in our lives.  Maybe looking ahead is better than looking behind. Maybe Michael Stipes and the Mayans had it right all along and it is the end of the world as we know it, but like Michael, I feel fine.  No matter what it is, I like this feeling and I am glad for it.  It feels like a sense of ready.  Ready for what?  I don’t know, but I like the possibilities.

I hope 2012 is a most amazing year for you.  We here at RMHC Austin just came off an incredible year, full of friends, supporters, volunteers, donors, and the privilege of serving families that touched our lives in profound ways. If you ever need us, and I hope you don’t, we will be here. Ready no matter what 2012 holds.  

This entry was posted in Holidays, Missy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My sister says it is all about even numbered years!

  1. Jan Gunter says:

    Here’s to a fabulous 2012 for you, your sister, and all of us here at RMHC – staff, families, volunteers and donors alike!

Leave a Reply

