Another List to Make

A friend of mine told me that as a way to improve himself he had made a commitment not to complain for one month.  When he told another friend what he had done, that friend asked him “well if you’re not going to complain about anything, what are you going to talk about?” 

Personally I just don’t think I could give up complaining 100% even for a month.  When you think about it, there is an entire industry devoted to complaining – almost every large enterprise has a complaint department.  Given the unemployment situation I would hate to feel that my not complaining had caused someone’s job to disappear – especially this time of year. 

 But I am all in favor of self improvement, so I set my mind to coming up with something more attainable for me.  Even though I do complain at times, there are many more times when I am just grateful.  So I decided that for one month the first thing I will do each morning is name five people who I am very thankful to have in my life.  I may even let them know that I am thankful for them – email is pretty easy, and I almost always have my cell phone with me. 

 That just seemed a little too easy though – not that I am complaining.  So I decided to take it one step further.  After I name off those five people every morning, I will make a personal commitment to live the rest of that day in such a way that I will be on someone else’s top five list. 

 Now you may be wondering what all this has to do with Ronald McDonald House.  Rarely a day goes by that one of our families does not stop by to say how thankful they are to the House.  But it’s not the House they are saying thanks to.  These moms and dads are saying thanks to all the people who make this House possible – and you can bet that puts all of our supporters pretty close to the top of the list for our families. 

 Chances are pretty good that you are reading this blog because you have had a hand at making this Ronald McDonald House possible.  So I am going to take this opportunity to tell you how thankful we are to you.  You are making a powerful difference in the lives of our families, and that keeps you on the top of our list – and theirs – every day.

Kent Burress, CEO

This entry was posted in Kent, Thank you. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another List to Make

  1. Jay Drayer says:

    Very well-worded thoughts that have inspired me to begin approaching my days in this manner. Thanks for sharing! -Jay

Leave a Reply

