Twitter-dum & Twitter-dee

by @dlesnau

First, let me say that I am well aware that businesses and organizations need to keep up with modern technology and methods of communications in the ever-changing world of social media and digital media outlets.  Tools such as Facebook & Twitter have rapidly changed the ways we can communicate with each other as well as the ways we can spread messages and images about various ventures or causes.  Tools like these have helped make the world an increasingly smaller place.

That being said, I do not have a personal Facebook account and only recently activated a Twitter account.  I was forced to activate this Twitter account in order to sign-up for a party during SXSW this past spring.  Unfortunately, the only way they were accepting sign-ups was through 1 of these 2 social media tools.  Since Twitter was first demoed during SXSW, I figured it was fitting.  Since establishing this account, I have used it twice…..once personally & once professionally.  And I imagine I won’t use it much until next year’s SXSW.  Updates on where free food & beer are being served are pretty sweet during the 4 day music part of the festival.

I fundamentally disagree with several aspects of personal Facebook & Twitter accounts, but that’s a whole other blog post…..or series of posts.  What can I say, I enjoy being the absent child who isn’t always connected.  I don’t think I’ll ever be a proponent of Facebook or Twitter, but I do see the benefits they give families staying at the RMH during their children’s treatments.  These outlets allow families to keep their friends and family updated on the condition of their kids and serves as a source of support during a very stressful time.  For these families, ease of communication and making the world a smaller place can only help them feel more supported, which is exactly what RMHC is here to do.

-Derrick Lesnau

This entry was posted in Derrick. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Twitter-dum & Twitter-dee

  1. Derrick says:

    Thanks for reading and not calling out my obvious hypocrisy: Tweeting, then blogging about my abstaining from social media…..haha.

  2. Crystal says:

    Valid points Derrick…I personally resisted Twitter until I couldn’t anymore…although, I admit I’ve been on the FB bandwagon since 2005.

  3. Jan Gunter says:

    Well done, Derrick. I appreciate your willingness to tweet professionally for me today when I asked. Thanks for throwing me a bone! And for always believing in what we can do for families.

  4. Karen says:

    Derrick- I agree these tools benefit from” everything in moderation”. I don’t need to know every move each of my friends make but I can see the benefit these tools have for RMH families wanting to updates family and friends without making multiple phone calls. They also can benefit from quick posts of comfort and encouragement when they need it most. Peace out my friends!

  5. ann says:

    Nice job dropping names and tagging! For someone who doesn’t like social media you are the blog bomb!!! Fun to read!!

Leave a Reply

