Happy Friday!

by Claire Mathias

I’m a part-timer here at RMHC, and Friday is usually my day off. But here I am, because I have a few things to finish up, and do you know what? I am happy to be here. I don’t mind it all! I have had jobs in the past where I needed to go in on the weekend or stay late (haven’t we all?) and yes, I did get a lot done toiling away with no distractions, but it just didn’t feel natural to be in the office alone.

So what’s the difference here at RMHC? It’s the home-like atmosphere, the guests, the volunteers, and of course my co-workers. I’m not by myself; I’m with all of these wonderful people. And because the House is a 24/7 operation, I could come in at 3 a.m. and know there will be folks around (although it would be pretty darn quiet)(and I’m pretty sure I’ll never actually be awake enough to come in at 3 a.m.!).

This sense of home creates so much more than a pleasant atmosphere. For all of us here, it keeps RMHC’s mission – to create a home away from home – at the forefront.  We never forget why we are here and that in itself is terrific motivator.

Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in Claire. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Friday!

  1. Jan Gunter says:

    I couldn’t agree more, Claire. I love coming in to work at the House. Thanks for describing that so well!
    Jan

  2. Jane Rose says:

    Well said, Claire! It really does feel like home, doesn’t it? That makes all the difference in the world. Ever since I started there, I’ve always said that “I’m going to the House” instead of “to the office” because it’s never felt like just an office to me either. I hope your Friday – and weekend, too – are terrific!

Leave a Reply

