Positive Words and Prayers

by Jan Gunter

My family is coming for Easter Dinner for our first real gathering at our house since Tropical Storm Hermine flooded our house in September. We’re pretty excited!

This is just a small part of the back yard.

In preparation, we set out to mow our lawn Sunday late afternoon, but we discovered the riding lawn mower was broken. So I fired up the push mower and started mowing. Did I say the lawn is LARGE? Our house sits on about 1/3 acre, most of it lawn!

It was probably sometime in the 70s when I last mowed an entire lawn with a push mower. So on Sunday night I was not happy about this turn of events! In fact, I was pretty grumpy! I started saying some positive words out loud to get my mind in a better place:  “All I need is within me now!” Sure enough, after saying that a few times – loudly – I was feeling super energized and happy.

The Family – at least part of us.

My words soon changed to, “Thank you, God, thank you, God, thank you, God,” somewhat more quietly. I thanked God for the green grass, for the creek, for my two wonderful grown children, my husband, my family, and many other things. At one point I stopped to wipe the sweat off my face and realized the lawn was spinning. I decided I should stand there and breathe for a few minutes to ward off the danger of fainting! Suddenly my prayer was more like, “Help me, God.”

And I began to think of the families that come to the Ronald McDonald House every day dealing with much larger challenges than having to use the push mower on a very large lawn. They employ whatever techniques they have to cope with their situation. Many no doubt pray.  They push through, going back and forth to the hospital, getting by on not enough sleep. They wait for the doctor to stop by their child’s room. Sometimes they look up and things seem to be spinning.

It probably boils down to a couple of things for all of us most of the time: “Thank you, God.” And “Help me, God.” These prayers have carried me – and many RMH families – through much larger challenges than my lawn mowing.

I’ll keep praying my prayers, and I encourage you to give them a try as well! Have a Happy Easter wherever you are!

This entry was posted in Holidays, Jan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Positive Words and Prayers

  1. Jan Gunter says:

    Thank you, Jane. You’re very kind, and that’s one of the great things about working here!

  2. Jane Rose says:

    Great post, Jan – even with all the challenges you have faced personally, YOU have been a blessing to and a rock for the families who need the RMHC. On their behalf, thanks for all that you do! Happy Easter to you and all yours!

Leave a Reply

