“Give it to Mikey, he’ll eat anything”

by Derrick Lesnau

It has been pointed out to me by my co-workers (several times) that I appear to have an affinity for leftovers from previous meals that are donated and prepared by our great Meal Provider volunteers.  These generous volunteers prepare enough food that RMHC staff are often invited to enjoy their home-cooked creations along with the families.

We have a program at the Ronald McDonald House (RMH) that allows community volunteers to purchase groceries and prepare home-made meals for the families staying at the RMH during their children’s medical treatment.  This is by far our most popular volunteer program and we are typically booked for all Lunch & Dinner Meal Provider shifts 2-3 months in advance.  Getting on the Meal Provider Calendar for an immediate shift is harder than booking a hotel room in Austin during the week of the SXSW Music Festival.  Our generous and talented Meal Provider volunteers create 2 new meals for the RMH families each day.

Now that being said, I will find myself clearing old food from the fridge that is perfectly edible, but too old for us to keep in the fridge due to the standards associated with serving food to our guests.  In these cases, I’ll usually try to eat some of the leftovers instead of just throwing it away.  Sometimes that leads to chicken spaghetti for breakfast (such as today……mmmmm, chicken spaghetti).  Other times it can lead to a combo of 2-3 kinds of leftovers dumped into a bowl for my lunch.  You’d be surprised what kinds of dishes can be created by combining previous RMH meals.  Sometimes these combinations draw interesting looks from my co-workers, but I know the end-result will be tasty, so I’m not deterred.  One thing is almost certain though:   it will contain pasta of some kind.  I guess I’m a RMH left-over connoisseur.  I wonder if I can get a deal to star in the next Life Cereal commercial and they can bring Mikey out of retirement.  Do they even make Life Cereal anymore?

This entry was posted in Derrick, Volunteers. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Give it to Mikey, he’ll eat anything”

  1. Pingback: 10,000 Views – What a milestone! | RMHC Austin

  2. Claire Mathias says:

    Yes, that chicken spaghetti this morning was kind of weird. I hope you at least heated it up.

  3. Jan Gunter says:

    Oh my gosh, Derrick! I haven’t seen that commercial in ages. Thanks for taking me back!

  4. Jane Rose says:

    Not only do they still make Life cereal, I enjoy a bowl of it for breakfast occasionally myself. But besides that, I want to add that our Meal Provider volunteers are all great and we appreciate all that they do at our House!

Leave a Reply

